by December 03, 2014 0 comments
TYPE OF CONTEST: Scholarship
BRIEF DESCRIPTION: Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the CSC in partnership with UK universities. These scholarships are intended for students from developing countries who would not otherwise be able to afford to undertake Master’s level study in the UK, to gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their home countries.

Levels and subjects of study

Shared Scholarships are for taught Masters’ courses only; awards will not be made for undergraduate or PhD study, and will not cover any pre-sessional English language teaching.
Candidates can apply to study subjects related to the development of their home country at participating UK universities only.
Shared Scholarships are usually tenable for one-year Master’s courses only.
ELIGIBILITY:  To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must:
  • Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country (a full list is available in theCommonwealth Shared Scholarships 2015 prospectus)
  • Be available to commence their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2015
  • Hold, by October 2015, a first degree of at least upper second class Honours standard
  • Not have undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country
  • Be unable themselves, or through their families, to pay to study in the UK
RULES AND REGULATIONS: Full rules and regulations can be found here

PRIZE: The CSC and host UK universities jointly meet the full  costs of Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.
Each Scholarship provides:
 Student concessionary or other approved airfare to the United Kingdom and return on expiry of the  Scholarship (arranged by the host university; funded by
the CSC)
 Approved tuition and examination fees (funded by the CSC)
 A personal maintenance allowance at the rate of £977 per month (£1,208 per month for those studying at institutions in the London Metropolitan area) – rates  quoted at 2014-2015 levels (paid and funded by the host university)
 A grant of £225 towards the expenses of preparing a dissertation, where applicable (claimed from the host  university; funded by the CSC)
 An initial arrival allowance, including visa reimbursement where applicable (funded by the host
 A grant of £200 for expenses for approved study travel within the UK or overseas (claimed from the host university; funded by the CSC)
 Excess baggage allowance for up to 10 kilograms of  books only, when returning home (funded by the CSC)

HOW TO APPLY: All applications must be made through your host UK university. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date.
All Commonwealth Shared Scholarship candidates must be selected and put forward to the CSC by their host UK university, and must submit their application to the CSC using our Electronic Application System (EAS).
Candidates must apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship using one of two methods, as instructed by the university:
  1. Via university: Applying to the university in the first instance using the university’s own application form. If selected, candidates will then be asked to submit an application to the CSC using the EAS. Any applications made via the EAS only and not directly to the university first will not be considered.
  2. EAS only: Applying to both the university and the CSC at the same time using the EAS.
DEADLINE: The EAS will close to applicants on 16 April 2015 and no further applications can be submitted after that date. Candidates should note that most university closing dates fall before 16 April and you must submit your application by the date advised by the university to which you are applying.

MORE INFORMATION: For more information click here

(Thanks to Naija Competitions.)


Post a Comment